Fashion love & musings

May I ask this question – “what is fashion?”

Consumerism, trends, entertainment, money, sex, fun wants or needs and/or more, so why do we continuously buy into it? To have some threads on our backs or trying to fulfill an empty hole somewhere deep within us… a temporary fix?

I guess reasons behind our answers will be different for all of us, although ultimately I believe it comes down to the same thing. A beautiful and often misunderstood thing called LOVE.

This is where my debate really lies: fast fashion vs true fashion. One is all about the money even it doesn’t seem that way as its so cheap and cheerful, the other is all about beauty and inspirations but with the expensive stigma attached to it. So if we are all buying for love in someway or another, why do we keep wasting our money on stuff that we apparently need/want? Is it not better and much more satisfying to spend your hard earned cash on fashion that you love, appreciate and that makes your heart sing everytime you feel like wearing a particular piece or outfit, pieces that have been designed and made with love and integrity?! I think the answer, for me at least, is quite simple really…                          Also equally, of course, sometimes you can fall out of love again it is perfectly natural as everything evolves and changes, at least then you will know when the time is right to let go of that piece and make space for a new love in your wardrobe. A wise queen once told me that you have to tell the whole story, that is what fashion is about and as far as stories go they keep getting invented and reinvented same as fashion. Each and every season is a story that the designer wants to tell, we, the lucky ones, can pick and choose which parts of the story we want to get lost in season after season, which parts to simply leave out to create our own personal fashion story.

As Yves Saint Laurent famous saying goes:

fashions fade style is eternal

Really if we dictate what we wear, when we wear it and how then isn’t fashion and style the same thing, just a different story to each individual?! Again the same queen bestowed me with a beautiful Prada top from my favourite S/S’12 collection, which she knew I just loved. Now that season is “long”gone but I still manage to work it and so it has become part of my style and the fashion stays although a different story everytime I wear it.

That is why there is space in our world for different brands and designers and loves as each one works at one time but maybe not another. Next time you go shopping have a think and see why you are buying that piece, and what part of your story do you want to tell with it, you might be surprised at what you do and how you feel!!

I would love to hear about your thoughts and fashion stories and hope you enjoyed my post, sorry it took a while 🙂 Thank you!!!

Inspirations for this post:

Prada – S/S’12 such a beautiful and fun collection, especially my magic top!

YSL – Quote

My Prada Queen of course, you know who you are!!

and of course a whole lot a LOVE!!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Fashion love & musings

  1. Ben says:

    For a moment there, I thought you were gonna call me your Prada queen ;-). Great article xxxxx

  2. Cheryl says:

    Fantastic has got me thinking about my wardrobe

  3. Anna says:

    Great post, love it 🙂

  4. Jo says:

    Puts a completely different spin on what style is………we can find our own voice! Not just follow the latest micro trend…….refreshing 🙂

Leave a Reply

